Frequently Asked Questions

Why should I donate to “Shangilia”?

Shangilia is an extraordinary project. It was developed by Kenyans for Kenyan children. Cultural and social misunderstandings being addressed from the outset. The needs and constraints of the neglected children and possibly their relatives are understood more comprehensively than Europeans ever could.

Shangilia has been working with increasing success for 20 years, a testament to a serious commitment and stable structure. Depending on their abilities, the children receive the best possible start in a modern society. They can also go on to study at a technical college or university.

How much of my donation do the children get?

Practically everything except the bank fees for transfers and port charges. All members of the association “Shangilia Deutschland” work voluntarily. Last year we spent just 0.2% of the donations received on the administration of the project.

Is there a check on how the money is used?

Shangilia is like all children’s homes under the supervision of the Kenyan authorities. In addition, an independent auditor prepares a quarterly statement which is also submitted to the “Shangilia Deutschland” association for review. Every year, a financial expert and a member of the association goes to Kenya to check the accounts and create a budget plan for the following year. During the year the budget and expenditure is monitored carefully. More details can be found in our current annual report.

How much money does a sponsorship cost?

We distinguish between three forms of sponsorship. A child sponsorship costs 25 euros per month. The amount of the costs for an apprenticeship or study sponsorship depends on the chosen training or the course of studies and the university. If you are interested in such a sponsorship, please contact us and we will then be happy to see what kind of sponsorship is suitable for you

Can I also sponsor a particular child?

Yes you can. However, you should bear in mind that disappointment cannot be ruled out. The children of Shangilia can also refuse to attend the school, go back to the streets, or simply suffer the affects of entering puberty. We work hard to rehabilitate the children and have qualified staff on hand to support them.

What about Aids in Shangilia?

AIDS is not a real problem. Currently, there are three HIV-positive children at Shangilia. They live normally with the others. The supply of medicines is free in Kenya. All children who are new at Shangilia receive an AIDS test.

What can I do except give money?

We are constantly looking for new ways to secure the financial future of Shangilia. In principle any kind of support is welcome. Whether it is donations on the occasion of birthdays or anniversaries, the motivation of companies to support us, concerts in favor of Shangilia, to build your own Shangilia circle-of-friends,  fin scs tat wu ike t su to support us in our market stalls or to help make contacts with potential sponsors and companies. These are just a few ideas, but there are many more ways to help put Shangilia on a stable footing for the long term.

 

 

Thank you for your interest in shangilia

If you have any questions or would like to receive more information about the project and our organisation please contact us.

Häufige Fragen

Warum soll ich ausgerechnet für „Shangilia“ spenden?

Weil Shangilia ein außergewöhnliches Projekt ist. Es wurde von Kenianern für kenianische Kinder entwickelt. Kulturelle und soziale Missverständnisse scheiden von vornherein aus. Die Nöte und Zwänge der verwahrlosten Kinder und evtl. ihrer Angehörigen werden umfassender begriffen, als Europäer das je könnten.

Shangilia arbeitet mit wachsendem Erfolg schon seit 20 Jahren, ein Beweis für ernsthaftes Engagement und stabile Strukturen. Die Kinder bekommen je nach Begabung die bestmögliche Starthilfe in eine moderne Gesellschaft. Wenn es geht, auch ein Studium an einer Art Fachhochschule oder an der Uni.

Wie viel von meiner Spende kommt denn bei den Kindern an?

Praktisch alles bis auf die Bankgebühren für Überweisungen und Portokosten. Alle Mitglieder des Vereins „Shangilia Deutschland“ arbeiten ehrenamtlich. Im vergangenen Jahr  gaben wir 0,2 % der eingegangenen Spendengelder für die Verwaltung aus.

Gibt es eine Kontrolle, wie das Geld verwendet wird?

Shangilia steht wie alle Kinderheime unter der Aufsicht der kenianischen Behörden. Zudem erstellt ein unabhängiger Buchprüfer vierteljährlich eine Abrechnung, die auch dem Verein „Shangilia Deutschland“ zur Überprüfung vorgelegt wird. Jährlich fahren eine Finanzwirtin und ein Mitglied des Vereins nach Kenia, kontrollieren die Abrechnungen und erstellen ein Budgetplan für das folgende Jahr. Genaueres können Sie unserem aktuellen Jahresbericht entnehmen.

Wie viel Geld kostet eine Patenschaft?

Wir unterscheiden zwischen drei Formen der Patenschaften. Eine Kinderpatenschaft kostet 25 Euro pro Monat. Die Höhe der Kosten für eine Ausbildungs- oder Studiumspatenschaft ist abhängig von der gewählten Ausbildung bzw. dem Studiengang und der Universität. Wenn Sie sich für eine solche Patenschaft interessieren, sprechen Sie uns an und wir können dann gerne gemeinsam schauen, welche Form der Patenschaft für Sie infrage kommt.

Kann ich auch eine Patenschaft für ein bestimmtes Kind übernehmen?

Ja, das können Sie. Aber Sie sollten dabei bedenken, dass Enttäuschungen nicht ausgeschlossen sind. Auch die Kinder von Shangilia können die Schule verweigern, wieder auf die Straße gehen oder sich in der Pubertät einfach sperren.

Was ist mit Aids in Shangilia?

Aids ist kein wirkliches Problem. Zurzeit gibt es drei HIV-positive Kinder. Sie leben normal mit den anderen zusammen. Die Versorgung mit Medikamenten ist in Kenia kostenlos. Alle Kinder, die neu zu Shangilia kommen, machen einen Aids-Test.

Was kann ich tun außer Geld geben?

Wir sind ständig auf der Suche nach neuen Ansätzen, um die finanzielle Zukunft Shangilias zu sichern. Grundsätzlich ist uns jegliche Art der Unterstützung willkommen. Sei es der Verzicht auf Geschenke anlässlich von Geburtstagen oder Jubiläen, die Motivation von Firmen uns zu unterstützen, Konzerte zugunsten von Shangilia, einen eigenen Shangilia Freundeskreis aufzubauen, uns bei unseren Verkaufsständen zu unterstützen oder Kontakte zu potentiellen Sponsoren und Firmen herzustellen. Das sind nur einige Ideen, aber Ihnen fallen vielleicht noch viel mehr Möglichkeiten ein, um die Finanzierung von Shangilia langfristig auf eine stabile Basis zu stellen.

 

Thank you for your interest in shangilia

If you have any questions or would like to receive more information about the project and our organisation please contact us.