The Shangilia story started in 1994

Shangilias story started in the year 1992. The Kenyan actress Anne Wanjugu played a leading role in a film about street children. Deeply affected by the experience and the children involved, she founded Shangilia and it became her life work until her death.

2015

The electricity demand at the home is largely covered by the installation of a photovoltaic system. We are happy to be able to reduce our electricity bill.

2014

Following years of hard work we were able to finally open the new home this year. The children have plenty of space to play. A well was dug so we could reduce the water bill.

2013

Installation of a vegetable garden which helped secure some independence. Thanks to a donation by the Welthungerhilfe we were able to start the construction of the new home.

In November the first Kenyan skate-park was built with a lot of media attention. The Music Club at the Mallinckrodt Gymnasium from Dortmund visited Shangilia and gave the African children their first taste of Mozart’s Magic Flute.

2012

In the summer the Shangilia children travelled to and performed in Slovenia, Austria and Germany. They visited their partner schools in Köln, Bonn, Troisdorf, St. Augustin and Dortmund. Shangilia Deutschland supported these activities with workshops in the schools.

Finally we were able to commence construction of the new school. The opening in September was a great event. In addition to prominent Kenyans, the German Ambassador, many of our sponsors,  the complete team from Shangilia Deutschland, as well as representatives from the slum attended and were impressed by the many performances made by the children.

2011

Our charity expanded and became better known. The sponsoring programme was expanded and was well received. The year was taken up with the many bureaucratic barriers that have prevented construction of the school from starting.

2010

“Ein Herz für Kinder” contributed towards the cost of building the new school and Frank Plasberg became our patron.

In cooperation with the  KinderKulturKarawane a group of Shangilia children were able to travel with their trainers and the school director throughout Germany and visit many local schools.

2009

The charity “Shangilia Deutschland e.V.”was registered.

We were were finally able to remove squatters and claim back the land for the school. The children can now play on their own land. They still do not have their own home.

Thank you for your interest in shangilia

If you have any questions or would like to receive more information about the project and our organisation please contact us.

Die Geschichte von Shangilia beginnt im Jahr 1994

4

Die kenianische Schauspielerin Anne Wanjugu übernimmt die Hauptrolle in einem Film über Straßenkinder. Tief berührt von den persönlichen Schicksalen der mitwirkenden Kinder, gründet sie Shangilia und widmet sich bis zu ihrem Tod mit großem Engagement ihrer neuen Lebensaufgabe.

2015

Die Stromversorgung des Kinderheim ist durch die neue Photovoltaik-Anlage zu einem großen Teil abgedeckt. Erfreulicherweise konnten so die Stromkosten gesenkt werden.

2014

Nach jahrelanger Arbeit konnte in diesem Jahr das neue Heim eröffnet werden. Endlich haben die Kinder Platz zum Spielen und Toben. Ein Brunnen wurde errichtet und so konnten die Kosten für die Wasserversorgung gesenkt werden.

2013

entsteht ein Gemüsegarten, der die Selbstverpflegung fördern soll. Dank Finanzierungszusage der Welthungerhilfe können wir mit dem zweiten Bauabschnitt, dem Heimbau, beginnen.

Im November wird mit großer medialer Begleitung der erste Skatepark in Kenia eröffnet. Die Musik-AG des Mallinckrodt Gymnasiums aus Dortmund besucht Shangilia und führt mit den afrikanischen Kindern Mozarts Zauberflöte auf.

2012

Im Sommer reisen erneut Shangilia-Kinder mit einem Auftrittsprogramm durch Slowenien, Österreich und Deutschland. Sie besuchen unter anderem ihre Partnerschulen in Köln, Bonn, Troisdorf, St. Augustin und Dortmund. Shangilia Deutschland unterstützt diese Auftritte mit Workshops an den verschiedenen Schulen.

Endlich kann der Schulneubau begonnen werden. Die Eröffnung im September ist ein großes Ereignis. Neben der politischen Prominenz aus Kenia, der deutschen Botschafterin, unseren Sponsoren und dem kompletten Team von Shangilia Deutschland nimmt auch die Bevölkerung der benachbarten Slum teil und lässt sich von der Aufführung der Kinder begeistern.

2011

Unser Verein wird größer und bekannter. Das Patenschaftsprogramm wird ausgebaut und findet guten Anklang. Das Jahr ist geprägt von der Auseinandersetzung mit vielen kleineren bürokratischen Hindernissen, die den Bau der Schule verzögern.

2010

„Ein Herz für Kinder“ übernimmt die Kosten des Schulneubaus und Frank Plasberg wird als Schirmherr für unseren Verein gewonnen.

2009

Der Verein „Shangilia Deutschland e.V.“ wird gegründet.

Nach fünf Jahren illegaler Besetzung, gelingt es endlich, die Besetzer des Grundstücks zum Abzug zu bewegen. Die Kinder haben endlich das Land, das ihnen gehört. Nur ein eigenes Heim – das haben sie noch nicht.

 

 

Wir freuen uns über Ihr Interesse an Shangilia.

Für Fragen, Anregungen und weitergehende Informationen zum Projekt oder unserer Organisation stehen wir gerne zur Verfügung.

Email