The stage

Our founder Anne Wanjugu knew from her own experience as an actress that the applause of the audience changes the actor on the stage, that this makes him fly, almost gives him wings.

When we get involved with street children, we must be aware of the fact that we are dealing with young people who are badly damaged because they have been neglected, rejected, abused, and simply not noticed.

So what is better than to convey the feelings of the children despised and despised by society on the stage?

Applause! Possibly by the same people who have recently driven them out on to the streets. Usually, the children play their own life on stage, often in bitter-comic sketches.

Soon traditional dance was added, African songs in different languages, drumming and acrobatics. Today, the children perform in schools, but also in lodges, at official events attended by the president, at company parties, but also in front of the neighbours in the slum.

Since the death of Anne Wanjugu, Shangilia has concentrated more on music, dance and acrobatics. A wind instrument group has been added. Several CDs have already been recorded. In recent years, the children have been invited to perform in Thailand, the USA and Zanzibar. In the summer of 2012 they came to Germany for the second time and again in 2016.

Much money is not earned with these performances, although the number of requests for an appearance increases. What is important is rather the public attention and the transmission of a message: “Yes, we can!”

Thank you for your interest in shangilia

If you have any questions or would like to receive more information about the project and our organisation please contact us.

Die Bühne

Die Gründerin Anne Wanjugu wusste aus eigener Erfahrung als Schauspielerin, dass der Beifall des Publikums den Schauspieler auf der Bühne verändert, dass er ihn aufrichtet, geradezu Flügel verleiht.

Wenn wir uns auf Straßenkinder einlassen, dann muss uns klar sein, dass wir es mit jungen Persönlichkeiten zu tun bekommen, die schwer geschädigt sind: denn sie wurden vernachlässigt, zurückgewiesen, missbraucht, einfach nicht wahrgenommen.

Was also lag näher, als den von der Gesellschaft verachteten und geschmähten Kindern genau dieses Gefühl zu vermitteln?

Beifall! Möglicherweise von denselben Leuten, die sie noch vor kurzem auf der Straße verjagt haben. Meist spielten die Kinder damals ihr eigenes Leben auf der Bühne nach, oft in bitter-komischen Sketchen.

Schon bald kamen traditionelle Tänze hinzu, afrikanische Songs in verschiedenen Stammessprachen,Trommeln, Akrobatik. Die Kinder treten heute wie damals in Schulen auf, aber auch in Lodges, bei offiziellen Veranstaltungen und vor dem Staatspräsidenten, auf Firmen-Feiern, aber auch vor den Nachbarn im Slum.

Seit dem Tod von Anne Wanjugu hat sich Shangilia mehr auf Musik, Tanz und Akrobatik konzentriert. Eine Blasmusikformation ist hinzugekommen. Mehrere CDs wurden bereits aufgenommen. In den letzten Jahren waren die Kinder eingeladen zu Veranstaltungen in Thailand, USA und Sansibar. In Sommer 2012 kamen sie ein weiteres Mal zu Besuch nach Deutschland.

Viel Geld wird mit diesen Auftritten nicht verdient obwohl die Zahl der Anfragen für einen Auftritt steigt. Es geht vielmehr um die öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit und die Übermittlung einer Botschaft: “Yes, we can!“

 

Thank you for your interest in shangilia

Wenn Sie Fragen haben oder weitere Informationen über das Projekt und unsere Organisation erhalten möchten, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte.