Street children

Street children have been a problem in Nairobi for 30 years, without the government being seriously concerned about it. In the meantime there are now second generation street children and whole “street children families”. They live without rights, without opportunities, without any hope for happiness.

If you come to Nairobi as a tourist, you will not see much of it. The police have driven them out of the city center. Begging children stealing food, with a glue bottle in the dirty hands – this is not a nice sight for Kenyan businessmen and foreign visitors.

But they exist. They are now dumped in the suburbs and the ever-growing slums. They hide from the police during the day in order not to be beaten and imprisoned, or to be dumped in primitive rehabilitation centers.

There are many reasons why they live on landfill sites and in sewage canals: their parents are dead, the father has disappeared and the mother can not feed them, the parents are sick or drowned, they have chase the children out of the house or have sent them to go begging in the city. Some are also thrown out of school and lead a gang life on the streets.

All are prone to illness and injury, they are threatened by beatings and rape. They feed on waste and forget their misery when sniffing glue. After a few years, their brains has been damaged, the chance of an education or a job lost forever.

Thank you for your interest in shangilia

If you have any questions or would like to receive more information about the project and our organisation please contact us.

Strassenkinder

Straßenkinder sind seit 30 Jahren ein Problem in Nairobi, ohne dass die Regierung sich bislang ernsthaft darum gekümmert hätte. Inzwischen gibt es längst Straßenkinder in der zweiten Generation, ganze „Straßenkinderfamilien“. Sie leben ohne Rechte, ohne Chancen, ohne Hoffnung auf Glück.

Wenn man als Tourist nach Nairobi kommt, wird man nicht viel davon sehen. Die Polizei hat sie aus der Innenstadt vertrieben. Bettelnde, stehlende Kinder, die Leimflasche in den schmutzigen Händen – das ist kein Anblick für kenianische Geschäftsleute und ausländische Besucher.

Aber es gibt sie doch. Sie vegetieren jetzt in den Vorstädten und den unentwegt weiter wuchernden Slums. Sie verstecken sich tagsüber vor der Polizei, um nicht verprügelt und ins Gefängnis gesteckt oder in einer Rehabilitierungsanstalt kaserniert zu werden.

Es gibt viele Gründe, warum sie auf Müllhalden und in Abwasserkanälen hausen: Die Eltern sind tot, der Vater ist verschwunden und die Mutter kann die Kinder nicht ernähren, die Eltern sind krank oder drogensüchtig, sie jagen die Kinder aus dem Haus oder schicken sie zum Betteln in die Stadt. Einige sind auch einfach aus der Schule getürmt und führen ein wildes Bandenleben auf den Straßen.

Alle sind anfällig für Krankheiten und Verletzungen, sie sind bedroht von Schlägen und Vergewaltigungen. Sie ernähren sich von Abfällen und vergessen ihr Elend beim Schnüffeln von Leim. Nach wenigen Jahren ist ihr Hirn für immer geschädigt, die Chance auf eine qualifizierte Ausbildung, auf einen anspruchsvollen Arbeitsplatz auf immer vertan.

 

Thank you for your interest in shangilia

Wenn Sie Fragen haben oder weitere Informationen über das Projekt und unsere Organisation erhalten möchten, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte.

Email